RHINE ON THE DNIPRO: JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION/ANDREAS GURSKY, Pinchuk Art Centre, Kiev. 28 September 2008 – 14  December 2008

The fascination for the treatment of present-day reality in digital pictures and music is a binding force between the collector Julia Stoschek, the artist Andreas Gursky and the band KRAFTWERK, currently made up of Ralf Hütter, Florian Schneider, Fritz Hilpert and Henning Schmitz.

From 28 September 2008 the PinchukArtCentre in Kiev will be showing an exhibition combining these three disciplines for the first time as part of Ukraine’s Deutsche Kulturwochen (festival of German culture).

Julia Stoschek, who opened her private collection of contemporary art focusing on new media last year, will be exhibiting 19 pieces that offer a cross section of her first exhibition in Duesseldorf, NUMBER ONE: DESTROY, SHE SAID.

Deconstruction/construction is the central theme behind the exhibition, which contrasts classical positions from the early days of video art, represented in pieces by artists such as Joan Jonas and Bruce Nauman, with the work of contemporary artists like Christian Jankowski and Robert Boyd.

Andreas Gursky is known across the globe for his monumental photography in which he reconstructs reality using digitally manipulated images. The exhibition offers an overview of Gursky’s oeuvre to date, bringing together early pieces with his current work to create an exciting analysis of the contemporary world.

The musicians behind the German group KRAFTWERK are considered pioneers of electronic music and their work has influenced countless musical styles such as synth pop, electro funk and Detroit techno.

The festive opening of the exhibition, entitled Julia Stoschek/Andreas Gursky/KRAFTWERK takes place on 27 September 2008 in the PinchukArtCentre. Following the ceremony, KRAFTWERK will round off the evening with a live performance in the Arena complex.

Artist list NUMBER ONE: DESTROY, SHE SAID, Pinchuk Art Centre, Kiev

Doug Aitken, Monica Bonvicini, Robert Boyd, Kate Gilmore, Manuel Graf, Christian Jankowski, Mark Leckey, Klara Liden, Gordon Matta-Clark, Anthony McCall, Bruce Nauman, Tony Oursler, Reynold Reynolds & Patrick Jolley, Robert Smithson, Aaron Young

Back to top